Wednesday, 30 May 2012

electrolux appetite for excellence finalists 2012

Since 2005, the Appetite for Excellence program has identified, fostered and celebrated young hospitality talent from around Australia. Now in its 7th year, the program encompasses three different categories (chef, waiter, restaurateur) and rather than just an award ceremony, the finalists are involved in months of activities including produce tours, cook and wait-offs, interview panels, and determine who really is the best all rounder in each category. It isn't easy, but you can be sure the cream rises to the top and those who end up as national finalists and winners really are ones to watch.

Of particular excitement is that several members of TOYS collective are amongst the names of finalists. Congratulations to Daniel Wilson (Huxtable), Katrina Birchmeier (Garagistes) and Rebecca Lines (Bar H Surry Hills) on their nominations for Young Restaurateur.

And the finalists are...
Young Chef State Finalists

Adrian Winoto (Demi Chef, Essence Restaurant, Jupiters Casino, Townsville QLD)
Benjamin Wallace (Sous Chef, Longrain, Melbourne VIC)
Jay Lee (Chef de Partie, Mosaic Restaurant, Westin Sydney, Sydney NSW)
Joshua Gertig (Commis Chef, Hilton Adelaide, Adelaide SA)
Kah-wai Lo (Chef de Partie, Hare & Grace, Melbourne VIC)
Matthew Bugeja (Chef de Partie, Becasse, Sydney NSW)
Michael Fox (Head Chef, Henry and the Fox, Melbourne VIC)
Michael Demagistris (Executive Chef, Sorrento Golf Club, Sorrento VIC)
Nick Street-Brown (Head Chef, Coast Restaurant and Bar, Hervey Bay QLD)
Richard Spencer (Junior Sous Chef, Beaufort St Merchant, Highgate WA)
Richmond Rodrigues (Apprentice Chef, Hilton Cairns, Cairns QLD)
Sarah Knights (Sous Chef, Uccello, Sydney NSW)
Stewart Wesson (Head Chef, Culinetic, Adelaide SA)

Electrolux Australian Young Waiter State Finalists

Alexander Tuckett (Asst Restaurant Manager, Pilu at Freshwater, Freshwater NSW)
Christopher Sarandis (Sommelier, The Marquis, Adelaide SA)
Christopher Rose (Sommelier, glass brasserie, Sydney NSW)
Damien Byrne (Sommelier, Grossi Florentino, Melbourne VIC)
Guy Barker (Manager, The European, Melbourne VIC)
James Audas (Head Sommelier, BLACK by Ezard, Pyrmont NSW)
Michael Bascetta (Waiter, Attica, Melbourne VIC)
Nic Wright (Waiters, The Burlington Bar & Dining, Crows Nest NSW)
Pierre-Etienne Geoffroy (Ast. Manager, Jacques Reymond Restaurant, Prahran VIC)
Shaun Eto (Senior Waiter, Icebergs Dining Room, Bondi Beach NSW)
Simone Spicer (Senior Waiter, Pei Modern, Melbourne VIC)

Young Restaurateur State Finalists

Amelia Birch (The Book Kitchen, Surry Hills NSW)
Daniel Wilson (Huxtable Restaurant, Fitzroy VIC)
Justin Markos (Utopia @ Waterfully Gully, Waterfall Gully SA)
Katrina Birchmeier (Garagistes, Hobart TAS)
Peter Harrington (Sage Restaurant, Braddon ACT/NSW)
Rebecca Lines (Bar H, Surry Hills NSW)