Thursday, 12 August 2010

electrolux appetite for excellence: winners 2010

After another year of incredible young talent being celebrated through the Electrolux Appetite for Excellence program, you can bet it was a hard slog for the judges to name their picks for Young Chef, Young Waiter and Young Restaurateur of the year. Hosted by Richard Wilkins and featuring special guest Brett Graham, head chef and owner of two-Michellin starred The Ledbury in London

Peter Gilmore, Luke Mangan and Brett Graham with the winners

Congratulations to all the participants this year, but here are the winners. Extra shout outs to Louise Tomayo (Young Waiter of the Year), who is also part of the [TOYS] crew.

Winners receive a unique opportunity to travel overseas and work with some of the most inspiring producers, chefs and other food industry icons in the world.

Electrolux Young Chef
Winner: Soren Lascelles, Assiette, Sydney, NSW
Runner Up: Danika Heslop, Quay, Sydney, NSW
Judges Acknowledgement: Emma Shearer, The Manse, Adelaide, SA 

Electrolux Young Waiter
Winner: Louise Tamayo, Becasse, Sydney, NSW
Runner Up: Josh Smith, Black Cow Bistro, Launceston, TAS
Judges Acknowledgement:  Aaron Christian, Georges on Waymouth, SA 

Electrolux Young Restaurateurs
Winner: Kim Coronica, Richmond Hill Café & Larder, VIC
Winner: Thomas Moore, Grazing, Gundaroo, NSW


Simon Food Favourites said...

is Richard Wilkins still going strong hehe i'm so glad i've been to all the sydney ones of Assiette, Quay and Becasse because i'm sure they're just about to become even more popular now :-)